Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Nuke Enlisted to Officer

Author Topic: Nuke Enlisted to Officer  (Read 10358 times)

Lark

Nuke Enlisted to Officer
« on: Jul 27, 2010, 07:29 »
Hello all and thank you for reading.

I was wondering the path that is available to me to become an officer in my situation.  I have a college degree, but its a non technical degree which isn't a big seller to the Navy right now.  In addition I had a charge for trespassing dropped (but because I did pre-trial diversion its automatically an admission of guilt).  Needless to say, direct path to OCS isn't an option.  I know I've screwed up, I accept my mistakes and I'm moving forward.

So my best option to become an officer is to enlist and show I have grown my mistakes and apply down the line from what I understand..  My recruiter called me and asked me what I thought about going the Nuke option because my ASVAB was a 96. 

My question here is what are the chances of me getting picked up for OCS in this field compared to others? 

Thanks again for reading and serving.

Offline still_in

• Light User
Re: Nuke Enlisted to Officer
« Reply #1 on: Jul 27, 2010, 08:02 »
I had a student back in 2004 or so at Prototype who was selected for NUPOC while on Active Duty.  He already had his degree and was spot promoted to E-6 following his interview with the Admiral. It was kinda funny seeing an E-6 student walking around.  That was a while ago though so the program restrictions may have changed but it is something to look into. OCS is also an option if you do well in A-school and Power School. Good Luck!

Offline Already Gone

• Curmudgeon At Large
  • Very Heavy User
  • Did I say that out loud?
« Reply #2 on: Jul 27, 2010, 08:51 »
You know....  it occurs to me that the zillions of people who come here for advice about joining the navy are all in different places as far as their intent to join and the reasons why.