Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Need Advice on Learning.
honeypot

Author Topic: Need Advice on Learning.  (Read 3760 times)

lzap

Need Advice on Learning.
« on: Aug 19, 2010, 05:40 »
I was wondering if anyone could offer me some advice. I  want to get into the nuclear plants here in New Jersey. I have passed the Plant Operator and Mechanical Operator portions of the POSS/Mass, however I can't seem to pass the technical part, I therefor couldn't get an interview for the "Shift Nuclear Technician Controls" position that I just tested for. I got into the fossil plant in Mercer NJ and I hated it, the environment was so extremely hot and suppressing. I was directed to look at Nuclear. So I am wondering if anyone can tell me what books I should be reading, classed I should be taking, certifications I should be going for etc (and how I should go about getting them),... I have almost no power plant experience. I worked at a chemical plant and I was a control room operator. Can anyone also tell me what the entry level positions are at nuclear plants,.. is it an Operator, or is there something else I should be applying for? If anyone can please offer me some direction so that i can learn as much as I can so that I can be ready for applying for these positions, I would be grateful. I would also like to know about the work environment of these positions, for instance, is it 140 plus degrees in these work environments like it is in fossil? I have no problem wearing excessive amount of PPE so that doesn't bother me, I am just not as physically fit as I used to be after working in a control room for the past few years. I want to get physically ready for these positions also. Any help to get me ready would be appreciated.
Thank you so much to whoever helps me.

Liz

MacGyver

Re: Need Advice on Learning.
« Reply #1 on: Aug 19, 2010, 08:24 »