Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Advice anyone?

Author Topic: Advice anyone?  (Read 10129 times)

Offline tbarner2010

• Very Lite User
Advice anyone?
« on: Sep 13, 2010, 08:42 »
Hello all,

My name is Trey, and I am new to these forums.  Let me start off by saying, I have wanted to work in the nuclear power field for some time.  I am just out of high school, and am preferring not to to go to college.  I live in West Texas, so I'd have to move in order to get a job at a nuclear plant.  I have come to these forums for some help because I believe that there are more people here that can help me than anywhere else on the internet.

Anyways, I need some help: since I have a high school diploma, not a whole lot of experience, and no college degree, is there any way I could go about getting a job/getting my foot in the door in the nuclear industry?  I read up on some jobs that don't require college degrees and one was a nuclear power plant operator. I would like to learn more about this position.  Exactly what are the requirements of that position?  What do you do as an operator?

I realize in this economy with my age (18) and experience/qualifications I'll have quite a struggle to get a job.

Any help is greatly appreciated guys!  

Thank you,

Trey
« Last Edit: Sep 13, 2010, 08:43 by tbarner2010 »

Offline Estis

• Light User
Re: Advice anyone?
« Reply #1 on: Sep 13, 2010, 08:53 »
If you want to get your foot in the door, you could always try to become a Navy Nuke. They take people with your level of experience all the time.
Note: I am currently a NUB, therefore, take all answers/replies/opinions with the grain of salt it deserves

Offline tbarner2010

• Very Lite User
« Reply #2 on: Sep 13, 2010, 11:30 »
Thanks to all those who have replied so far.

I'd be willing to do any kind of work just so I can start out in some kind of entry level position and have the ability to move up.  Preferably in a nuclear power plant, such as Comanche Peak.

Fremont