Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu My Future in the Navy  

Author Topic: My Future in the Navy  (Read 7564 times)

rocketscientist

My Future in the Navy
« on: Oct 26, 2010, 06:40 »
Hello Gentlemen (and women, for the potentiality that females are browsing this thread),

I'm new to the Nukeworker so please bear with my "newbness";

I'm a 4th year aerospace engineering student at UC San Diego. I have a 3.6 GPA and am graduating in June. I am very heavily considering applying to the NUPOC program because I worked a full time job during summer, and frankly, 8-5 Monday through Friday isn't for me. I want to try something new, and I figure while I'm young, I have nothing to lose.

From what I've researched, Naval Reactors is designing and auditing reactor designs. Don't get me wrong, I love engineering, but I was hoping for something a little more...out there ...if you will (for lack of a better phrase). Now, probably like half of the people in this forum, I'm stuck between Nuclear sub and Nuclear SWO. I've heard many disadvantages and advantages for each, namely that on carriers you're confined to the engine room while on subs you actually get to rotate around the boat and try different things. I was reading some threads that said several months ago (i.e. April), the program was particularly selective and I would be pretty much out of luck for SWO (N). Would I be competitive for the Sub program? I'm also very involved with my fraternity (no, sadly, I'm too much of an engineer to party in the manner of Animal House, I don't even drink actually), and have a full time internship with Edison now. By the way, I have a clean record (no drugs, tattooes, arrests, etc.).