Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Navy Nuke and Me

Author Topic: Navy Nuke and Me  (Read 4114 times)

FatDaddy1

Navy Nuke and Me
« on: Nov 02, 2010, 03:06 »
Hey guys. I've been lurking this site for a while now and I am impressed with the people here. For the most part you all seem pretty nice, and it is good to see people willing to toss some advice to the newcomers.

So right now, like a lot of others here, I am working on getting into the Nuke program. I am currently a Sophomore in college majoring in Math Education and totally hate everything about that major, the school I'm attending, and the area of the world in which I currently live. It's peaceful here but after 20 years of the same I'd like to see something new.

When I was a junior in High School I was considering the Nuke program, along with other branches of service. I had no idea what I wanted to do with my life and the military seemed exciting. I took the ASVAB then and scored a 98, qualifying for Nuclear. The problem was, once my scores came through I was hounded non stop by recruiters of every branch and it turned me off to the service. Additionally, when I was a senior I suffered a pretty severe patella dislocation. I had surgery on it shortly after the injury, but unfortunately it wasn't fixed. Months went by and I was still hobbling around like a crippled old man. I ran the quarter mile for my school's track team, and from my junior year to my senior year there was an 8 second decrease in my best time. So, basically, even if I still wanted to join the military the chances of me passing any sort of physical test were slim to none.