Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu AECF transfering to Nuke  

Author Topic: AECF transfering to Nuke  (Read 17389 times)

Walifrex

AECF transfering to Nuke
« on: Dec 01, 2010, 07:53 »
Hello, been sulking around here a little while I was waiting for my recruiter to go through the motions to get me down to MEPS to sign up for Nuke. 96 on my Asvab, 253 on NUC, 56 on the NAPT. Not wonderfully high scores, but figured they would be high enough for MM(N).

Ran into a bit of a problem, got told that because 6 years ago back in High School, I failed a class and got a few D's, that I'm currently not allowed to go into the Nuke program. I did a handwritten statement explaining why my grades were so poor (Got kicked out of the house, forced to move schools twice in the middle of spring semester, mom passed away spring semeter of junior year.) and one explaining that I've been working for the past 6 years non-stop because I had bills to pay.

MEPS, recruiter, Nuke Coordinator told me to take another job to lock in a ship date and make it do I don't have to go back down to MEPS, but that they are going to try and get a waiver sent in for me to change jobs to Nuke. I chose AECF, figured fiddling with radar and CIWS widgets should be entertaining and it seemed like it would pay well enough.

Long story short, how screwed am I for getting Nuke at this point? Got told that I should try and get letters of recommendation from as many bigwigs as I can get but come Friday we'll have a better idea on whats going on, if the top brass in Maryland say yea or nay on what we have so far.

Nuke is what I really want and still want to do. I keep getting told the Navy needs/wants/lusts after Nuke, but they seem to be playing hard to get. Out of my recruiting pool, not one person got Nuke and I know of atleast one other that was trying for it.

Thank you.
« Last Edit: Dec 01, 2010, 07:55 by Walifrex »

Samabby

Re: AECF transfering to Nuke
« Reply #1 on: Dec 01, 2010, 09:14 »