Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu I&C Tech coming out of Pharma, want to get into NUKES

Author Topic: I&C Tech coming out of Pharma, want to get into NUKES  (Read 3916 times)

SYavo

Hi All,

I have been doing instrumentation/controls/metrology work for about ten years now (I am 32). I do not have any certificates (such as from the ISA), but do have two associates degrees from the Community College of the Air Force: one in aircraft maintenance (F-15/F-16 electrician) and one in electronics (cross-trained to Satellite Telecommunications). I also have a Secret clearance. My past experience mainly involves instrumentation for military testing, analytical instrument system integration, and pharmaceutical plant instrumentation integration and metrology. I presently am an independent contractor working for an integrator (E-Technologies Group), but work has been kind of slow lately. A friend of mine who has worked nukes in the past is pointing me towards breaking into the nuclear industry since pharma seems to be going the way of the auto companies.

I have posted my resume on the site here and was wondering if anyone could give me a few pointers. I have some rather extensive experience in the I&C field and am pretty good at what I do… However, the often repeated mantra on this forum is “how can I break in to nukes without the nuke experience?” I have gotten a few call-backs from recruiters, but mainly to tell me they would love to hire me if I had ANY nuke background (my work on nuke weapons systems does not count…  ;D ) Anyway, I guess I am just looking for an entry level I&C tech job.

Here is an exerpt from my generic cover letter I have been tweeking for various nuke positions: