Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu I'm in! How a non-Navy guy did it..

Author Topic: I'm in! How a non-Navy guy did it..  (Read 18881 times)

ski2313

I'm in! How a non-Navy guy did it..
« on: Feb 03, 2011, 12:21 »
First off, I want to thank the users of this site.. People seem to be very helpful, and there is a wealth of information here that helped me out over the last 2 years to break in to this industry as an NLO.

My background is obviously not Navy Nuclear, and on top of that I have no formal degree. However, I do have 3 years of college (1 year of engineering, 2 years of biochemistry, all 3 years heavy on the math and science). That essentially gives me an Associate's of Applied Science equivalent+, but makes me nothing more than a fringe candidate. I have worked at two nuclear plants in the past as a summer intern in the Supply Chain, and for a contractor in a Laborer's union during a refueling outage (so I'm at least familiar and comfortable with the nuclear environment and culture). From that point,the last eight years I spent at my family's mortgage company as a commercial and residential loan officer. So knowing these facts and looking at them objectively (as if I were the interviewer), how could I make a logical appeal to an interview panel and land a position? That's the question I answered myself and worked on for the last two years, in a concerted effort to change industries and careers and land my dream job as an Operator.

First and foremost, I learned as much as possible about the position and the career path. I learned alot from this site. I even personally interviewed, at length, two career (near retirement) operators that I knew through the mortgage business (clients). I decided that this was the path that I wanted to travel, and that was that. I envy people who know exactly what they want to do from a young age, but that just wasn't me. It took me until I was almost 30 to figure it out.