Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Advice needed
honeypot

Author Topic: Advice needed  (Read 5808 times)

rmm1209

Advice needed
« on: Dec 22, 2010, 06:09 »
I just came across this forum after doing an internet search and it looks like the right place to get some advice.  I'm interested in exploring opportunities that might be available in the nuclear field for someone with my background.  I'm 42 and I've been teaching Physics for about 15 years (high school and community college).  I have no experience in the nuclear field.  I have a BS in Physics, an MA in Physics Education, and an MA in Physics.  I was in a PhD program in Physics; the MA in Physics was the degree we received after passing the comprehensive exams. 

What kind of entry level nuclear job should I be looking for given my background?  Is my age a negative for someone that is just getting started in nuclear work?  Would taking some Nuclear Engineering courses online help my cause?

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide.  Happy Holidays!

co60slr

Re: Advice needed
« Reply #1 on: Dec 22, 2010, 06:37 »
I just came across this forum after doing an internet search and it looks like the right place to get some advice.  I'm interested in exploring opportunities that might be available in the nuclear field for someone with my background.  I'm 42 and I've been teaching Physics for about 15 years (high school and community college).  I have no experience in the nuclear field.  I have a BS in Physics, an MA in Physics Education, and an MA in Physics.  I was in a PhD program in Physics; the MA in Physics was the degree we received after passing the comprehensive exams.  

What kind of entry level nuclear job should I be looking for given my background?  Is my age a negative for someone that is just getting started in nuclear work?  Would taking some Nuclear Engineering courses online help my cause?

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide.  Happy Holidays!