Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Nuke Welding Jobs? How to get in? honeypot

Author Topic: Nuke Welding Jobs? How to get in?  (Read 26074 times)

deskaiser

Nuke Welding Jobs? How to get in?
« on: Jan 08, 2011, 08:35 »
Grettings,
I'm interested in becoming a maintenance welder for an exisiting nuclear power plant and would like to respectfully request any suggestions from exisiting employees.

My background is 22 years as a welder working primarily in coal fired power plants.  I have worked as a welder in nuke plants during scheduled outages and can pass all security requirements.  I have an Associates Degree in Business, Boilermaker Apprentice Program Graduate and just became a new AWS Certified Welding Inspector.  I'm willing to relocate, attend any training and start at an entry level position if required.  I'm also willing to go back to school at my own expence.  Needing a change and I really want to finish my welding career in the nuke industry.  I'm in my mid-40's and fear my age/lack of college degree may be a factor but I'm in excellent physical condition and can perform all required tasks in regards to manual labor.  I'm also very experienced when it comes to power plant welding, rigging, safety training, etc.  Any suggestions on who, when, where to contact?  Resume tips? Job fairs? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks  
« Last Edit: Jan 08, 2011, 08:42 by deskaiser »

Sun Dog

Re: Nuke Welding Jobs? How to get in?
« Reply #1 on: Jan 08, 2011, 08:59 »
Grettings,
I'm interested in becoming a maintenance welder for an exisiting nuclear power plant and would like to respectfully request any suggestions from exisiting employees.