Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Pros and Cons of going union?

Author Topic: Pros and Cons of going union?  (Read 10639 times)

my name is.....

Pros and Cons of going union?
« on: Jan 13, 2011, 10:48 »
Hey folks, I have never worked for/with a union before and was curious about what others think about the pros and cons of doing so.

Thanks all for any information.

Offline Smart People

• Rad Engineer/Shipper
  • Very Heavy User
  • I like being around smart people
Re: Pros and Cons of going union?
« Reply #1 on: Jan 13, 2011, 11:08 »
Find the NPUA thread
Blessed is the man who can laugh at himself--he will never cease to be amused
Think twice and say nothing..Chiun
I'm as big a fool as anyone..And bigger than most.. Odd Thomas

my name is.....

« Reply #2 on: Jan 13, 2011, 11:11 »
Ok will do, I searched for Unions and all other topics related but did not know about the NPUA. I will look into that.

Offline Smart People

• Rad Engineer/Shipper
  • Very Heavy User
  • I like being around smart people
« Reply #3 on: Jan 13, 2011, 11:20 »
It should give you a good picture of the debate.

http://www.nukeworker.com/forum/index.php/topic,18812.0.html
« Last Edit: Jan 13, 2011, 11:23 by Smart People »
Blessed is the man who can laugh at himself--he will never cease to be amused
Think twice and say nothing..Chiun
I'm as big a fool as anyone..And bigger than most.. Odd Thomas

Offline UncaBuffalo

• Mostly Retired
  • Very Heavy User
  • "How Many Things I Have No Need Of" - Socrates
« Reply #4 on: Jan 13, 2011, 12:04 »
Hey folks, I have never worked for/with a union before and was curious about what others think about the pros and cons of doing so.

Thanks all for any information.

This is just my experience with union shops over the years:

Cons -
1.  Pay a monthly fee.
2.  Don't get any raises for better performance.
3.  There are always some slackers that won't pull their weight & hide behind the union. 

Pros -
1.  Higher pay.