Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Nuc Eng. with a Communications degree honeypot

Author Topic: Nuc Eng. with a Communications degree  (Read 9304 times)

rdm0711

Nuc Eng. with a Communications degree
« on: Feb 05, 2011, 04:50 »
I graduated from Penn State last May with a B.S. in nuclear engineering, a B.A. in Communications and a minor in Italian.  I know it is a strange mix so you don't need to tell me that.

I have had only two interviews in the last 9 months, one with Areva who told me that my comm degree made me look like a poor engineer because they didn't think I could sit behind a desk all day.  The other with a contracting company, Altran, who said that I was very charismatic and enthusiastic during the interview, however, they didn't feel the position was right for me because it is going to be a very boring job and I wouldn't like it.

Does having a dual degree really make me look bad?  Should I just get rid of it on my resume and just say I spent 7 years in college because I didn't know what I wanted to do.  Do I need to go into an interview with a depressed and boring look on my face to be credible as an engineer? 

My friend says that there might be as many as 80 students graduating in nuclear from Penn State this May which means that in 4 months I will also have to compete with 80+ fresh minds right out of college on top of every other college grad in the country.  It will be over a year since I've done any engineering.  Can anyone give me some advice?  I'm already 130k in loan debt so I don't really want to go back to get a masters but if I have to then I will.  Thanks in advance!

-Rich

Sun Dog

Re: Nuc Eng. with a Communications degree
« Reply #1 on: Feb 05, 2011, 06:38 »
I graduated from Penn State last May with a B.S. in nuclear engineering, a B.A. in Communications and a minor in Italian.  I know it is a strange mix so you don't need to tell me that.