Career Path > Navy Nuke

Silly Question: Shooting

(1/8) > >>

GNowakowski:
So I've done a myriad of searches on this forum - hoping to find information on whether or not there is much opportunity for shooting while in the Navy.  So my silly question is does the Navy leave the door open for shooting? (Rifles hopefully?) Will we get to do any shooting at boot camp?  After boot camp (during pipeline?) will the option be open?

I know its a silly question set... I'm a NW Montana resident...I love shooting - and can't help but wonder.

Also, is there anywhere anybody can point me as far as rules of having your own guns?  Is that a no-no? (I see if your on the Navy Team its O.K...but if your not?)

http://www.usnst.org/  
Here they have a document NAVADMIN message (first link on top center of the page) and on pg. 2 it does state its open to all
commands.  It doesn't say much about how it can be applied for - it seems you would need your command to give the nod.

http://www.usnst.org/faq.htm
Again it says "all active duty" personnel.  However...I notice that Nuc's are often exceptions to the rules... lol

http://usmilitary.about.com/od/navy/l/aanavybasic5.htm
It appears that in boot camp you get to shoot a 9mm and a shotgun... :)  ... I can't find any documentation showing that you EVER get to fire a rifle at boot camp...is that because you don't? :(

http://www.navysports.com/sports/c-rifle/navy-c-rifle-body.html
This site is a bit difficult to navigate - its hard to tell whether this is only open to academy students or all the Navy... Truly a
headache of a site (Although the most aesthetically pleasing site I've seen from the Navy yet)

So once again - I'm just not catching the information I'm looking for... I WNTZ 2 SHEWT STUFF!
Any response is appreciated,

-Glen

ADDED:   I thought I'd post this in this thread for later search strings.  (Now the word "shooting" will bring up pages...so no funny business!)