Career Path > Radiation Safety

Health Physics or Medical Physics

(1/1)

domingo3:
  Hi.  I am a former nuke SWO officer (7 years) with a BS in physics.  I'm interesting in a little shift in career going into Health or Medical Physics, rather than the operational side of things.  Ideally, I'd like to end up in a hospital setting, but I'd also be very intersted in a lab/research setting.  Power plant isn't myh first choice, but definitely an option as well.
  Is this something that I can step right into with my experience, or would I have to go back to school for a masters first?

Ideas or insights on any aspect of this would be great.  I feel a little lost looking into the real world when all I've known is the Navy.

Thanks

Beta_effect:
You may need to plan on a little more education for the Medical physics route...

Here is a typical job description:

http://jobdescriptions.unm.edu/jdeweb.cfm?action=viewSpecific&HRJOB_ID=4500

For this particular position the education/experience requirements are:

Master's degree in Radiation Therapeutic Medical Physics or an equivalent field or discipline; at least 5 years of experience that is directly related to the duties and responsibilities specified.

Board Certification as Medical Physicist (ABR, ABMP, or equivalent).

There may be a possibility of working in a Health and Safety Office of a large hospital. Usually the RSO's are physicians and most of the day to day radiological work is done by the nuc med techs. The medical field seems to be reluctant in hiring non-medical types to handle the day to day radcon aspects of their facilities.

The best bet here is to look at University Hospitals as they usually will have a regular Health and Safety group that will have a non-medical RSO with a few HP tech types. Working on staff at a University is not a bad life...

Melissa White:
B.E.'s Got it right.