Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Ex-Navy non nuke  

Author Topic: Ex-Navy non nuke  (Read 5690 times)

rhthompson

Ex-Navy non nuke
« on: Aug 06, 2011, 10:18 »
I am new to the board so please be gentle.  My history is as follows: Served nine years in the navy as a Missile technician (D5 ballistic missile system), 6 of which were on board a nuclear sub and the last 3 I worked as a Radcon tech in the safety department at a strategic weapons facility doing swipes, dispersing and collecting dosimetry, training personell about radiation detection and safety as well as being a member of the decon team.
Once out of the navy I landed a job as an industrial maintenance technician / electrician. I have held this position for almost 6 years now but I would like to get into the nuclear industry.  I am just confused what the career paths are and which one to take.  I would like to stay on the maintenance side (maybe I&C) since this is where most of my experience is but it seems to me from reading other posts that most people pursue operator positions. 
What I am really after is a breakdown of the different career paths (maintenance, operator, rad tech etc..) and some general info about their salarys.
Thank you. Sorry if I rambled.

rhthompson

Re: Ex-Navy non nuke
« Reply #1 on: Aug 06, 2011, 11:01 »
Or can I get some insight on how to get my foot in the door with my background.  I also have an AAS degree in electronics.

Offline Higgs

• SRO
  • Very Heavy User
  • Life has a melody...
« Reply #2 on: Aug 06, 2011, 03:22 »
You'd be competitive for any position you applied for, including ops. There is a missile tech in my license class right now..., but of course, he started as an NLO.

For salaries, use the sites search feature, there are a few threads on that. I would do it but I'm on my phone.
"How feeble is the mindset to accept defenselessness. How unnatural. How cheap. How cowardly. How pathetic.” - Ted Nugent

Offline retired nuke

• Family Man