Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu PWR Auxiliary Operator vs BWR Auxiliary Operator

Author Topic: PWR Auxiliary Operator vs BWR Auxiliary Operator  (Read 12544 times)

scrub

PWR Auxiliary Operator vs BWR Auxiliary Operator
« on: Jul 15, 2005, 11:07 »
Does the type of reactor make a difference with where one would choose to work?  I need to choose pretty quick.

What other factors would you say help in making a decision?
-Starting pay...

Thanks for any and all help provided.

halflifer

Re: PWR Auxiliary Operator vs BWR Auxiliary Operator
« Reply #1 on: Jul 17, 2005, 10:41 »
i've done HP work at B's and P's.......I like B's better because everything is 'dirty'.....no surprises.
I was an operator at a B....it was good.
For advice, I'd say select a job the same way you would select property.....location, location, location.
As far as I can tell, everybody pays well enough and has good benes, so pick the place you most want to live.
now can ya feel the love?

scrub

« Reply #2 on: Jul 17, 2005, 01:49 »
 ;) :P

I feel some love now.  Thanks!

Both opportunities are great.  One does offer a nice location too.

Check your PM box also.

Thank you
Rick

Fermi2

« Reply #3 on: Jul 17, 2005, 03:41 »
I think I told you what I thought via email.

One thing I considered when I changed jobs was location. I really wanted to live in the Southeast but not in Florida or the Deep South. (Mostly I wanted a good central location). I ended up getting far better than I had even hoped for. To me location was a lot, then cost of living and taxes next.

Mike

shayne

« Reply #4 on: Sep 02, 2005, 10:59 »
I've only worked at a commercial BWR, but I imagine the work is just about the same at either plant as an Non Licensed Operator.

scrub

« Reply #5 on: Sep 02, 2005, 02:12 »
Thanks for the help. 

I went with the BWR.  Started Aug 22.
« Last Edit: Sep 02, 2005, 02:12 by scrub »

NukeWorker ™ is a registered trademark of NukeWorker.com ™, LLC © 1996-2024 All rights reserved.