Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Nuke Officer with the wrong major... honeypot

Author Topic: Nuke Officer with the wrong major...  (Read 15387 times)

Offline zmorgn

• Very Lite User
Nuke Officer with the wrong major...
« on: Sep 09, 2011, 10:38 »
Hello all, I'm new but I've done my best to search the forums.  They've been great to answer most of my questions, but I've got a unique one for you (I hope... please berate-me-not if I'm wrong).

I'm very interested becoming an SWO.  Let's assume I understand the level of difficulty, demands, requirements, etc etc.  My issue is I got my bachelors in business marketing with no physics, chemistry, or calculus classes.  If I understand correctly, I need at least a years worth of calculus (some sources say I'd need a year of physics as well). 

These are my questions:
-Do I need to find some community college where I can take some calculus and physics classes or does the Navy accept CLEP?
-Would they accept any kind of accelerated class?
-Would they even accept classes from a community college (I'm not certain how the accreditation thing works for schools)?
-Has anyone ever encountered a similar situation in their experience? What do?

Now, let's think positively here, folks.  Let's think of how to make it work instead of why it won't work.

Thank you for any and all advice you can provide! I really appreciate it!

Offline navynukedoc

• RP/HP/RC
  • Heavy User
Re: Nuke Officer with the wrong major...
« Reply #1 on: Sep 09, 2011, 10:57 »
I know personally the last command I was at, the ESO office offered CLEP exams right on base. But that was 12 years ago, and I didn't take calc either. I would say see your ESO office rep and find out which ones you can take. If not you can do it online with just about any major university these days.

If you are patient Gamecock will eventually pick up on this and he most likely would have the best advice on this issue.

Welcome to nukeworker! [dowave]