Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu What to look for when applying for OPS? honeypot

Author Topic: What to look for when applying for OPS?  (Read 3956 times)

Offline cosmos///m3

• Lurker
What to look for when applying for OPS?
« on: Sep 26, 2011, 09:55 »
Alright, first off I want to say hello. I am a noob, but have been lurking this forum for a while. I am a college senior and will be graduating at the end of this year. Basically here is the deal...

This summer I had a Internship as an EPU Scheduler at Turkey Point. Had a great time and learned more than I could have anticipated. My last 2 weeks of the summer I had the opportunity to shadow personnel in operations. ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT! Since then I have been looking and researching careers in Nuclear Operations.

I know this question has been somewhat beat to death, but when searching for jobs exactly what should I look for? Position Title? How does one go about getting into the training? Taking the POSS test? Everything associated with getting into Ops? Sorry if my questions are redundant, reason I ask is they guys I shadowed this summer told me typically there are classes of about ~20 they train. Is this something that every plant does or was this only Turkey Point.

Any positive information would be much appreciated.

Thanks
Kyle

Offline bradley535

• Light User
  • My employer found me at NukeWorker.com
Re: What to look for when applying for OPS?
« Reply #1 on: Sep 26, 2011, 10:33 »
Welcome to Nukeworker; let's get right to it.

exactly what should I look for? Position Title?

Auxiliary Operator (AO)/ Non-Licensed Operator (NLO). (No positions at Turkey Point open at this time)

How does one go about getting into the training?

Once you are hired, you will be scheduled into the training. This will happen with the small group of other AOs that got hired in the same class.

Taking the POSS test?