Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Wanting to return to where it all started
honeypot

Author Topic: Wanting to return to where it all started  (Read 5078 times)

sjtoupin

Wanting to return to where it all started
« on: Oct 09, 2011, 01:18 »
Hi everyone!

Thank you for your time in reading this post.

I left the nuclear industry 14 years ago to enter the IT industry.  I been wanting to return to the nuclear industry for the past couple of years.  I have a Bachelor of Science degree in Radiological Health Physics and a graduate certificate in Radioactive Waste Management.  Experience in decontamination, instrumentation, surveys, dosimetry and dose calculations, quality assurance, and technical procedure writing.  I am able to start immediately and also am willing to relocate and travel as needed.  I also would like to know how to best review and prepare for this transition.  Can someone recommend companies/agencies to apply?

Any helpful suggestions is appreciated.

Offline tolstoy

• Moderate User
Re: Wanting to return to where it all started
« Reply #1 on: Oct 09, 2011, 06:48 »
What were you doing fourteen years ago and what level of experience do you have? Have you developed any expertise in IT that could be applicable? Where is your BS from?

Content1

« Reply #2 on: Oct 09, 2011, 07:21 »
What make you wish to leave information technology, the place where all the jobs and action is, like in Silicon Valley?  My son-in-law is going to school in bioinformatics, a lucrative sub field in the IT arena.  Many of us left the road as the pay scales are stale and until they build more Nuke plants and with the bad economy, now is a bad time to make a change.

sjtoupin

« Reply #3 on: Oct 09, 2011, 07:43 »
What were you doing fourteen years ago and what level of experience do you have? Have you developed any expertise in IT that could be applicable? Where is your BS from?