Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu What are the first few years on a Submarine Like for an Officer? honeypot

Author Topic: What are the first few years on a Submarine Like for an Officer?  (Read 10581 times)

Offline seconskin552

• Light User
  • I'm not a doctor. I am only five years old!
From what I have gathered using the search, the first two years on a submarine are spent getting qualified. But what does that actually entail? What do you do after those first 2 years through the rest of your sea tour? I could not find very recent postings on that information. Thanks in advance for your replies.

Very Respectfully,

Secon

Offline Zog

• Moderate User
First place they will put you is EOOW with 3 very experienced enlisted guys to keep you out of trouble. Just say "Aye" alot and make 2MC announcements.  :D

Offline GLW

• Gold Member
  • caveo proditor,...
Secon,

IIRYPC you are currently at Goose Creek.

Are there not any submarine qualified officers there who you can ask?!?

My first speculation is those officers would be the best resource you could query with this line of questioning.

Thanks for your service, be careful out there,.....GLW

been there, dun that,... the doormat to hell does not read "welcome", the doormat to hell reads "it's just business"

HalfHazzard

PM me if you want more.  I'll give you a brief synopsis.

You should qualify Dolphins within 12-18 months.  I don't know who told you two years, maybe he was stuck in the shipyard.  That being said, operating at sea AND your work ethic will be the two greatest contributors to you qualifying quickly.

You've got two sets of quals: Back Aft (Engineering) and Forward (Everything else).