Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu NUPOC vs Working at a Shipyard?
honeypot

Author Topic: NUPOC vs Working at a Shipyard?  (Read 12352 times)

Offline silverstar808

• Light User
NUPOC vs Working at a Shipyard?
« on: Dec 06, 2011, 02:24 »
Hi all,

I am a senior electric engineer student living in Hawaii. A local recruiter talked to me about the NUPOC program and I had thought about it for a while now. My main question is, how does working 5-6 years in the shipyard (i.e. Pearl Harbor) compares to being commissioned for 5-6 years in the navy as a surface warfare officer? There are so many different opinions online. Some say that the program provides decent leadership skills and I would be highly desirable to civilian industry after I leave the navy, while others say if you don't have the experience that the company is looking for on your resume, they will not hire you. After all, 5-6 year is a somewhat long period of time... so I want to gather more opinions on my options right now. Bottom line is, which of the follow options would have a better industry career outlook in the future?

Here is my 3 main options after graduation

1) work in Pearl Harbor Naval Shipyard as an entry level electrical or nuclear engineer
2) work in Norfolk Naval Shipyard as an entry level electrical engineer
3) participate in the NUPOC program and hope for the best for the next 5-6 years

I am a first generation college student, and I am grateful for the existence of this forum because I don't really have other professionals to seek opinions from.

Thank you

Offline Gamecock

• Subject Matter Expert
  • "Perfection is the enemy of good enough."
Re: NUPOC vs Working at a Shipyard?
« Reply #1 on: Dec 06, 2011, 08:41 »
Hi all,