Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu OUTAGE JOBS  

Author Topic: OUTAGE JOBS  (Read 9121 times)

Offline cbrockelman

• Lurker
OUTAGE JOBS
« on: Dec 09, 2011, 12:42 »
Hello,
I am new to the nuclear industry, as i have completed a power plant technology course through a local technical college. A friend of mine has also completed this course and we are looking to be traveling partners for outages. the problem we're running into is that we dont have the slightest clue of where or who to get ahold of for possible jobs at up coming outages. We're looking for jobs that require a low level of experience such as a mechanic or electrician's helper. any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Cole

SCMasterchef

Re: OUTAGE JOBS
« Reply #1 on: Dec 09, 2011, 02:38 »
You may want to check with SHAW as a source of trade type work.  They are getting ready to build the two new AP1000 Westinghouse units at V.C. Summer.  SC is a right to work state and the union issues may not be so prohibiting there.  Don't know who is the construction company at Vogtle in Augusta, GA.

Offline Protectologist

• Gold Member
« Reply #2 on: Dec 10, 2011, 05:32 »
Shaw just picked up the APS contract and will be lookiing for people for Palo Verde. B&W and Bartlett have formed a joint venture to provide services to Progress Energy plants (and with the Progress Energy/Duke Energy merger that can lead to bigger and better things, i. e. more work). You can probably find something by contacting either one of them. The problem isn't so much finding work but deciding where you want to be geographically. Also, do you want power plant work of will any kind of facility do? DOE has been cutting back but Oak Ridge is a working facility and will be hiring, as well as INL in Idaho, not to mention the Ohio facilities. Be more specific about what you want and then you can focus your job search on achieving that.

Offline rctbymay

• Lurker
« Reply #3 on: Dec 10, 2011, 08:57 »