Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Knee Problems...is this going to affect me?

Author Topic: Knee Problems...is this going to affect me?  (Read 8953 times)

Offline c3neely

• Very Lite User
Knee Problems...is this going to affect me?
« on: Mar 12, 2012, 07:49 »
So a year ago I broke my leg doing brazilian jiujitsu...long story, left with a metal plate and 6 screws in my right knee...tibial plateau fracture.  It takes forever to feel better, and im still putting in work on it, and honestly, its never going to "be the same" as it used to be...its always going to give me problems, and when im in my 40/s 50's ill "probably need it replaced" (im 27 now).

So this is my deal:  my orthopedic says "you'll need a desk job"...but i hate desk jobs.  I currently work in education and I want to get out, and ironically a lady I work with's husband hires Equipment Operators at the Peach Bottom Plant in PA - Exelon.  A friend of mine works there, and I asked him "how much physical labor" do you do? and he said that while hes not doing a lot of heavy lifting, he is on his feet all day.  I can get around fine, im just nervous long term

So thats my question...am I setting myself up for a problem getting into the field with my knee...when im older, and am I not going to be able to do the work? I cant for the life of me figure out if Im overthinking this, or not thinking about it enough.  Im currently taking accounting courses...and while I dont hate it, i really dont want to spend all this money and time if I can get into this field and be ok in it

Any opinions?  What do you guys think? Thanks

Fermi2

Re: Knee Problems...is this going to affect me?
« Reply #1 on: Mar 12, 2012, 08:19 »
I have bad knees and trust me my time as an NLO did not help them one bit.

drayer54

« Reply #2 on: Mar 12, 2012, 10:37 »