Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Any Chem Techs out there?
honeypot

Author Topic: Any Chem Techs out there?  (Read 4553 times)

Offline bach13

• Lurker
Any Chem Techs out there?
« on: Apr 27, 2012, 11:17 »
Hello all,

I am new to the nuclear plant world and just trying to understand the environment a bit more. I am being recruited for a chem tech position with Exelon. I just took the TECH test, and I am waiting to hear back how I did. Anyways, I wanted to know what to expect in terms of shift work, overtime, and what my responsibilities would be in the event of an outage. I am currently in a 9-5 salary job, so I know it will be quite an adjustment for me. But I'm guessing the bump in pay and opportunities for advancement would be really rewarding.

Offline tolstoy

• Moderate User
Re: Any Chem Techs out there?
« Reply #1 on: Apr 27, 2012, 04:46 »
Good job with decent benefits. Likely to have plenty of hours during outages depending on the site you are working at. All cookie-cutter chemistry. Absolutely no interest in insight, modification, or experimental chemistry. Depending on the site you could wallow around at the bottom of the seniority list for a very long time. There are a lot worse ways to earn a paycheck.

Offline Papa Nuc

• Moderate User
« Reply #2 on: Apr 27, 2012, 06:43 »
Take it.

Offline hamsamich

• Very Heavy User
  • And did I hear a 9er in there?
« Reply #3 on: Apr 28, 2012, 05:18 »