Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Resume Advice honeypot

Author Topic: Resume Advice  (Read 111552 times)

Offline Dstealth

• Light User
Resume Advice
« on: May 24, 2012, 11:40 »
I was in the Navy for 8 years; while in I worked on the USS Jimmy Carter and left as a MM1(SS).  Since the Navy I moved to Lake Havasu City to take care of my mother who fell ill.  I am currently working in a PVC extrusion manufacturing plant as a Lead Operator.  While here I used my GI bill to go back to school and will be finishing a degree in Technical Management next month with a 4.0 average.  When in power school I graduated top half of everything.

I qualified everything I could while on my sub up to ERS.  I made first class 3 months prior to leaving my boat and never became EWS qualified.  While on the Sub I did everything from gage calibration, maintenance, Quality Assurance, RPPO, pubs, etc...  

I now have a strong desire to get back into the nuclear world and for the past 6 months I have had very little luck.  I am reaching out to try and start networking.  I am not picky about what I do and will work hard.  My requirement is Full time work, benefits, and 60k a year(or close to that)

When looking at the job boards the thing that describes the Mechanical position best is the Auxiliary Operator Position.  So my question is what other positions should I be looking at?  I have applied to Teaching and Planning positions as I see them come up.  

I am at the point that I would hire a headhunter to help me move back into the Nuclear Field.  Any suggestions on job postings that I would be qualified for that I have overlooked would be appreciated.  Any suggestions on how to get back into the Nuke world would be appreciated.  

Thank you for your time.
« Last Edit: May 25, 2012, 08:31 by Rennhack »

Offline Dstealth

• Light User
Re: Trying to get back into the Nuclear Field
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2012, 11:42 »
Summary