Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Went to College before shipping as NUC  

Author Topic: Went to College before shipping as NUC  (Read 5151 times)

Offline JStelly93

• Very Lite User
Went to College before shipping as NUC
« on: Jun 25, 2012, 08:42 »
Hello, and thank you for taking the time to read my inquiry.

I am 19 years of age, and I joined the Navy six months ago. I scored an ASVAB of 94, with a 256(?) in NUC field.
However, this score can not accurately vouch for my academic history, as I graduated highschool with a GPA of 2.45, and a D in freshman Algebra. This blemished history of mine prompted a three week delay in the form of an academic waiver on the signing of my NUC contract, something I am very ashamed of.

As you can see.. I've never been what you'd call an "honors" student, but I never stopped trying. Believe it or not, I secured my place in the pipeline - at least for the time being. I decided to spend my 8 month waiting period in college, with my mind set on the college's engineering program (Loved it, by the way; was #3 in my class of about 30, something I was proud of given my history) to prepare me for what the NUC pipeline had in store. My first two "quarters" (or half semesters, the college's form of academic terms), went well enough, with me struggling in math as I always have. Winter rolled by slowly.. come Spring quarter I was experiencing burn out. The quarter ended terribly.. my grades were so horrific, I didn't even bear to look at them.

Here's the problem. The officials in NUC requested my college transcripts today, and I'm making the drive tomorrow morning to get it to them. I know that I'm already on thin ice because of my grades in highschool, and now I fear that last quarter's performance will be the end of it.

To understand my concerns, I'll give a brief summary of my college performance over the last three quarters.
Fall - Prerequisites, GPA of 3.5
Winter - Engineering classes, GPA of 3.3