Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu STAR Re-enlistment questions honeypot

Author Topic: STAR Re-enlistment questions  (Read 18956 times)

Offline queenofconfusion91

• Lurker
STAR Re-enlistment questions
« on: Jun 18, 2012, 09:38 »
My boyfriend is a nuke (MM3) on a carrier at his first duty station (Norfolk). He's been there for about 10 months & is about to go out on his first deployment. He'll hit 3 years in this August. So far, he does not like it, mainly due to his command. However, a few months ago we talked about him STAR re-enlisting & decided it was a good decision for a few reasons. We've been 450 miles apart since he got to Norfolk, but the plan is that as soon as deployment is over, I'll move up there. The BAH that will come with making E-5 will make this a lot less stressful financially (I'm currently a student working almost full time but at a job that doesn't pay much). However, he's come very very close to advancing on the last few exams so it's possible that he'll make it off the next. The bonus, while not a huge factor, was also something that played into the decision for him.

One of the biggest factors in the decision though was the possibility of him shaving some time off his sea duty. He was told by his CCC that if he star reenlists, it'd be possible for him to go to NPTU (where he was before Norfolk & where I currently live, although the city itself doesn't really matter to us) after 3 years on his ship. So basically instead of 4 years of sea duty, he could get 3 years sea and 3 years shore. He's learned in these short 10 months that he hates being at sea, and I hate it too so if an extra 2 years on shore could get us less time away from each other, we're both for it.