Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Riddle me this...

Author Topic: Riddle me this...  (Read 22259 times)

Offline TDK1981

• Lurker
Riddle me this...
« on: Jul 08, 2012, 09:47 »
Here it is, middle of the summer and still no work.  I still have not gotten a call for work.  Albeit I am only a Jr. HP, but how can an experienced JR HP(~3500 hours) have a hard time getting outage work? I have been working commercial outages since 2005.  I worked 10 outages as a Jr. deconner, then made the move to JR HP my last 11 outages.  I have been finding it more and more difficult to get work.  Not only am I having to fight new blood getting into these classes or getting credit for their online schooling, but I am having to hurdle recruiters. 
I recently had an experience with a recruiter which has made my blood boil.  I started submitting my resume to this company in early may.  Filled out their little form online of top 4 places I wanted to go, even though I knew I wanted to work at one site for the fall.  I started making the routine phone calls (not my first rodeo, I know how the game is played).  I got an email back from the recruiter only to be approved for a decon position, when I submitted my resume for JR HP.  I called the recruiter back and asked to be resubmitted as a JR HP. The recruiter said they would do that for me.