Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Trying to get into Commercial Nuclear Power Plants. honeypot

Author Topic: Trying to get into Commercial Nuclear Power Plants.  (Read 6347 times)

Offline risterbl

• Very Lite User
I have been trying to get into Commercial Nuclear Power Plants since graduating in May 2010 with a B.S. in Physics.  I have had one interview and told the only reason I was there was the school I graduated from.  I took all the nuclear power classes my school offered (Nuclear Physics and Reactor Physics).  I am currently working as a defense contractor on Nuclear Powered Ships doing non propulsion electronics systems.  Does anyone have any suggestions as to what I can do to get into a commercial nuclear operator position?  I appreciate your time and efforts.

Offline Higgs

• SRO
  • Very Heavy User
  • Life has a melody...
Re: Trying to get into Commercial Nuclear Power Plants.
« Reply #1 on: Oct 15, 2012, 04:58 »
Specifically what positions are you applying for?

Justin
"How feeble is the mindset to accept defenselessness. How unnatural. How cheap. How cowardly. How pathetic.” - Ted Nugent

Offline risterbl

• Very Lite User
« Reply #2 on: Oct 15, 2012, 05:04 »
I have been applying for: Non Licensed Operator, Auxiliary Operator, Learner Nuclear Reactor Operator, and Nuclear Equipment Operator.

Offline Higgs

• SRO
  • Very Heavy User
  • Life has a melody...
« Reply #3 on: Oct 15, 2012, 05:19 »
Besides the one interview, have you had any call backs?

And when you weren't offered that job, did you ask why?
« Last Edit: Oct 15, 2012, 05:19 by Higgs »
"How feeble is the mindset to accept defenselessness. How unnatural. How cheap. How cowardly. How pathetic.” - Ted Nugent

Offline risterbl

• Very Lite User
« Reply #4 on: Oct 15, 2012, 06:00 »