Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu I&C or Tech writing where to start? honeypot

Author Topic: I&C or Tech writing where to start?  (Read 5546 times)

Offline merchantg

• Light User
I&C or Tech writing where to start?
« on: Nov 01, 2012, 07:16 »
I am looking to break back into the power plant world after a decade hiatus. I am currently a shift electromechanical tech mostly doing controls and plc work. I finished my B.S. in Nuc Eng Tech from TESC a year ago now. I have a solid work history clean record no drama kind of hire. I was a Navy Nuke MM in the past but I don't really play that fact up too much outside the power plant world because nobody has a clue what it means. I am looking to work in the NC and/or SC areas due to family. I am interested in controls work and procedure writing but man I am clueless as to how to get my foot in the door in either contract work or full time. How does one begin procedure writing for the nuclear world?

Offline GLW

• Gold Member
  • caveo proditor,...
Re: I&C or Tech writing where to start?
« Reply #1 on: Nov 01, 2012, 09:28 »
It starts here:
INPO 11-003 (nee 09-004), Procedure Use and Adherence
NEI AP-907-001, Procedure Process
NEI AP-907-005, Procedure Writer’s Manual

There a few consultants that offer a procedure writers certification, these are no guaranteed ticket to a job.

My experience cannot be comprehensive as there are a lot of places I have not worked. Full time "Procedure Writer" (defined as 40hrs/week, 52 weeks/year, full benefits package, single focus career) is something I have not witnessed for so long I'm not sure they ever existed.

Procedure writers are hired with some regularity for staff augmentation, you may have to be willing to work cheap for awhile because you will be competing against many of the semi-retireds who have deep and proven resumes and established networks.