Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Basic Questions

Author Topic: Basic Questions  (Read 8288 times)

Offline margiela16

• Very Lite User
Basic Questions
« on: Sep 24, 2012, 03:31 »
Hi,

I'm new to the forums although I have lurked for a little while. I met an ex Navy Nuke not too long ago who was a distant relative  and I started to look into it.

My question's have to do with my past schooling. I am 20. I spent my high school years constantly traveling for sports. I'd spent the minute I got out of class til midnight or later playing travel sports, generally out of state(east coast states), every day. I never took any serious math classes and my GPA was in the 2.5 area. Fast forward to last year and I was in a state school. I majored in civil engineering and loved it. My first semester went decent, I got b's and c's. My second semester was tough but I was still getting b's,c's and an A. My math class(calculus) was getting to me. Regardless near the end of the semester I had a C and studied up for the final. Sure enough less than a week before finals I get into a car accident with my friend. My leg gets tangled up a little bit and I'm rushed into surgery. I miss finals and take them a few days after they're scheduled. I had no study time between the days I spent in the hospital and the days at my apartment on pain pills or in pain. I still "studied" though. I ended up doing well on all my tests except for calculus. I finished with an F.

My original question was going to ask if what classes I took in high school and my gpa matter much to the recruiter. Also, will my F in calculus completely erase my chances. I will like to say that I did great in science in math during high school but also, like I said, my math classes weren't high level classes(algebra, alg 2, trig,).
« Last Edit: Sep 24, 2012, 03:32 by margiela16 »

Offline GLW

• Gold Member
  • caveo proditor,...
Re: Basic Questions
« Reply #1 on: Sep 24, 2012, 03:45 »