Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Engineer-contractor pay range honeypot

Author Topic: Engineer-contractor pay range  (Read 8278 times)

Offline z.james37

• Very Lite User
Engineer-contractor pay range
« on: Dec 12, 2012, 04:27 »
Hello

I am a nuclear engineer with 8-10 years of experience with background in electrical/mechanical/licensing areas (different projects-different responsebilities over time).  I am contemplating in becoming a consultant/contractor but do not know what an appropriate billing rate is for someone like me. All questions below assume there are no benefits.

Is $80 an hour + per diem for a 1-year contract reasonable? 

What about jobs where you can work from home (e.g, an MCNP calc)- no per diem, but should the billing rate change to reflect the benefit of working from home?   

Should one charge more for projects that are only a month or two in duration? - I am thinking that longer term projects are more desirable (hence cpmpensation is lower) but maybe I got this one wrong...

thanks for any feedback

Offline dea

• Light User
Re: Engineer-contractor pay range
« Reply #1 on: Dec 12, 2012, 07:14 »
Looks like $80/hr is at the high end, check this site http://www.gcservices.com/ it's one of the few sites that I have seen that actually shows compensation rates.

ski2313

« Reply #2 on: Dec 13, 2012, 07:20 »
Pair of pay ranges I've seen for contractors, that might be considered long term (18-24 months):

procedure writer for uprate AOPs/EOPs = $80/hr no per diem

Ops training instructor = $105/hr plus $100/d per diem

Just as a disclaimer, these two guys had about 70 years of nuke experience between them, probably makes a difference.

Offline z.james37

• Very Lite User
« Reply #3 on: Dec 14, 2012, 01:10 »