Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Geiger-Muller honeypot

Author Topic: Geiger-Muller  (Read 8258 times)

Offline JasonConner

• Light User
Geiger-Muller
« on: Jan 02, 2013, 09:50 »
Greetings,

I am rather new to this industry and I have a question relating to pancake and side-window detectors.  I realize pancakes are for contamination, but I wonder if it's acceptable to use a pancake to quickly locate the hottest spot on a package and then use the side-window to actually pull the dose rate, or would I be totally out of line?  I ask only because the pancake seems to respond much faster than my side-window, and I would like to survey the package as quickly as possible while still maintaining accuracy. 

Chimera

Re: Geiger-Muller
« Reply #1 on: Jan 02, 2013, 10:15 »
It is a technique that works albeit highly unofficial and not supported by procedures.

Offline GLW

• Gold Member
  • caveo proditor,...
« Reply #2 on: Jan 02, 2013, 10:31 »
It is a technique that works albeit highly unofficial and not supported by procedures.

In short, if you screw up, you cannot defend your methodology.

been there, dun that,... the doormat to hell does not read "welcome", the doormat to hell reads "it's just business"

Offline Laning

• Moderate User
  • I love NukeWorker.com!
« Reply #3 on: Jan 02, 2013, 10:52 »
Nothing at all wrong with using a pancake probe as a tool to quickly locate areas of elevated activity, then quantifying with a calibrated exposure rate instrument.
If you're gonna be dumb, ya gotta be tough

Offline SloGlo

• meter reader
  • Very Heavy User
  • trust me, i'm an hp
« Reply #4 on: Jan 02, 2013, 11:58 »
Nothing at all wrong with using a pancake probe as a tool to quickly locate areas of elevated activity, then quantifying with a calibrated exposure rate instrument.