Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu 6yr MM(NUC) getting out. I could use some guidance

Author Topic: 6yr MM(NUC) getting out. I could use some guidance  (Read 4456 times)

Offline oneanddone65

• Lurker
I'd like to know what my job in the navy equates to in the civilian field. I am a Reactor Mechanic onboard USS Enterprise. I qualified all my necessary qualifications including my SIR qual, and Surface Warfare (if that is even relevant to civilian employers). Unfortunately though, that is all that I had accomplished; so no Watch Supervisor quals, no extra schools due to timing, no QAI/S, no S/RCI. This makes me sound like a (poop)bag underachiever, and while I ultimately have no one to blame but myself, it also had plenty to do preferential treatment towards more senior (not in quals but in time on board) personnel, an extensive shipyard period, two full deployments, and being extremely undermanned. I will say though that I accomplished all necessary quals on time, and being the more junior watchstander, stood plenty of watch, have plenty of experience in all plant conditions, and an above average level of knowledge. Currently, the plan is to get out and go to school, but what am I going to school for? What kind of jobs can I get out there given my background and experience. Any real life examples would be greatly appreciated. Once I figure out what job I'd like to shoot for, I could get an appropriate degree to back it up, then start working. Thanks for your time and guidance.

Fermi2

Re: 6yr MM(NUC) getting out. I could use some guidance
« Reply #1 on: Jan 13, 2013, 12:59 »
Well you obviously never completed the search function qual card.

drayer54

« Reply #2 on: Jan 13, 2013, 05:53 »
1) Less excuses… in fact, no excuses. Nobody is going to care about the why you didn't get this or that done.
2) What are you qualified to do and how long have you done it? Just the facts.