Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Jobs outside the nuclear similar to NLO?

Author Topic: Jobs outside the nuclear similar to NLO?  (Read 7928 times)

rjpijan

Jobs outside the nuclear similar to NLO?
« on: Jan 17, 2013, 09:46 »
I just tested for an NLO and while I'm still waiting for the results I'm also continuing my job search. I'm looking for  a career that begins assuming a role similar to a NLO. What positions are there in other industries that are most similar to an NLO in responsibilities and pay? I realize there are no jobs with similar pay, but I'm looking for those jobs that are nearest in pay. I have a college degree and an internship at an ethanol plant which is my most applicable experience. What I like about the NLO position is the extensive up front training you receive, which is partially why I think they are able to consider this position entry level, because that training prepares you. It seems other industries prefer years of experience for roles similar to an NLO, and don't provide nearly the extent of training or pay. Lastly, if I do not succeed in landing the NLO job, will a few years of non-nuclear power plant employment greatly increase my chances of later getting the job?

Offline Starkist

• Very Heavy User
Re: Jobs outside the nuclear similar to NLO?
« Reply #1 on: Jan 17, 2013, 04:34 »
chemical plant operators can make some damn good money, as can fossil plant. Both are "similar" positions to NLO. 

Offline timmythekidd

• Lurker
« Reply #2 on: Jan 21, 2013, 07:53 »