Facility & Company Information > Peach Bottom

Nuclear Chem Tech

<< < (3/4) > >>

johnnyhqle:

--- Quote from: GLW on Mar 09, 2013, 09:24 ---fair enough,...did you apply at the NRC?!?

--- End quote ---

I applied to a few openings at the NRC on USAJobs but no bites so far. I applied to a few naval shipyards too and no bites. All I can do is wait and see who responds to my applications.

I am going to the ANS conference this spring and hopefully they'll have some companies there with openings.

hamsamich:
I've been a chem tech, an RP tech, and an operator.  Operations as an NLO to me is on the same par as RP or Chem tech, although Chem Techs and RP Techs may make a little more money.  RO or SRO (also Operations) is obviously on a higher plane in money and more complex.  But different plants are sometimes very different in approaches.  Some Chem Techs (like at Salem) do way more operations type stuff and have many other duties when compared to what an average chem tech does at most plants.  But don't worry about any of this.  Best to get your foot in the door and then move over to another position when it becomes available in house.  Most places need operators more than other positions;  so getting in as something other than an operator will give you a chance to do something different on your way to ops.  It is harder to leave ops than to goto ops once you are in house.  Especially if you have an RO or SRO.  This is not always the case but more often than not.

johnnyhqle: