Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Duke, TVA, SCANA, etc help for a recent grad/Navy Nuke vet honeypot

Author Topic: Duke, TVA, SCANA, etc help for a recent grad/Navy Nuke vet  (Read 6584 times)

Offline Dz84

• Very Lite User
Hi! I'm a recent Nuclear Engineering grad and former 8-year Navy Nuke. I'm very interested in getting a job in the South. Anywhere would work but I would especially love Duke, TVA, or SCANA. I have applied for numerous engineering jobs and have yet to receive any word back on any of them. I understand that operator jobs take a long time to 'process' and filter through the HR world, is it the same for engineering jobs? What is the proper etiquette on following up on these job applications? Taking into account my Navy experience and my degree, does anyone have advice for me on what types of jobs to pursue and how to get into the commercial nuclear power industry? In particular, I want to pursue systems/rapid response engineering. Thank you for any help, advice, and beat-downs for not seeing a different thread dealing with this exact topic!

DZ
« Last Edit: May 02, 2013, 02:24 by Dz84 »

Offline a|F

• Moderate User
Re: Duke, TVA, SCANA, etc help for a recent grad
« Reply #1 on: Apr 25, 2013, 02:40 »
Hearsay alert:

Duke is in the process of closing Crystal River and is looking to relocate those workers to other plants. 

TVA has been affected by the government's cuts and has few job postings.

SCANA has been actively recruiting for ops, not sure about engineers, but I would think they'd need more of them as well.

If you have a legit Nuke degree and not some engineering technology degree, then coupled with the Navy background, you would seem a solid choice on paper.  Make sure your resume is concise and reflects what they're looking for.  There are a couple sites you can use to get in touch with HR types and hiring managers.  Be persistent and go get it. 

HeavyD

« Reply #2 on: Apr 25, 2013, 04:16 »