Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Getting my first RP job - am i doing it wrong? can i improve my chances?
honeypot

Author Topic: Getting my first RP job - am i doing it wrong? can i improve my chances?  (Read 7085 times)

dubstep girl

Hi,

I'm almost 21yo, i graduated with an Associates in Radiation Protection last may and am still looking for my first RP job. I unfortunately feel that my lack of work experience is hurting my chances of getting hired. I worked for a year at a DOE lab doing office work when i was still in high school. i also worked 2 Exelon plant outages as part of my college internship, this was done through Bartlett.

So I basically have 2 months of RP/decon experience. I passed the NUF, POSS/MASS/TECH exams during college and have been applying to jobs for almost a year now. i've gotten a few interviews from exelon (ive been applying to them for just about every operator and RP job posted since) but no-one else i've applied for has called back. I sent my application to bartlett as well to try and get an outage and have been unsuccessful (most of my college friends managed to get in through connections, unfortunately i'm completely new to nuclear and have no references in the industry).

i've looked around but am not sure what to do next, i know its hard to get in and theres tons of competition out there (more than i originally thought),  is there anything i'm doing wrong or is there a better way to get my first RP job in the industry?

thanks!

MacGyver

Hi,

I'm almost 21yo, i graduated with an Associates in Radiation Protection last may and am still looking for my first RP job. I unfortunately feel that my lack of work experience is hurting my chances of getting hired. I worked for a year at a DOE lab doing office work when i was still in high school. i also worked 2 Exelon plant outages as part of my college internship, this was done through Bartlett.