Career Path > Coming Back

I want to go on the road

(1/17) > >>

Dagon:
I have been a house tech for >20 years and I think it is time to go on the road.  Is it possible to do 3 or 4 outages a year?  I really want to see the country and work at different plants. I have no ties and nothing to stay here for.  Being a senior RST must account for something in the HP world of employment.

61nomad:
What does RST stand for?  What type of facility are you a house tech in?

RDTroja:

--- Quote from: 61nomad on Aug 06, 2013, 08:30 ---What does RST stand for?
--- End quote ---

How long have you been in this industry?

RST = RPT = HPT

Radiation Safety Technician -- and I would have a good guess about his location based on the acronym but I won't say. If he wants to tell you where he is, he will.

milo124:

--- Quote from: RDTroja on Aug 07, 2013, 08:28 ---How long have you been in this industry?

RST = RPT = HPT

Radiation Safety Technician -- and I would have a good guess about his location based on the acronym but I won't say. If he wants to tell you where he is, he will.

--- End quote ---

What's the average length of an outage these days? 2wks, 3wks, 4wks?  It's been awhile so I'll guess and be conservative with 24 weeks for 4 outages.  And before I get beat over the head for using RadCon math, thats assuming 4 weeks per outage (16 weeks) plus another 8 weeks in case I'm way off which means 6 months of employment (or more likely wishful thinking, especially when you take into consideration most plants these days want returnees).

Are you wanting 6 months of vacation?

RDTroja:
There are lots of ways of doing the math and all of them are only partially right... or at least most of them are a partial guess.