Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Naval Reactors Question  

Author Topic: Naval Reactors Question  (Read 8763 times)

Offline Remydon

• Very Lite User
Naval Reactors Question
« on: Aug 17, 2013, 05:45 »
Hello all! First time poster.

I'm a Mechanical Engineer working for the Navy as a civilian for about 4 years now, hold TS security clearance, and lead a small team in electronics cooling design work. I'm also working on my M.S. in Nuclear Engineering at night, and will be finishing up in May 2014. After that, I'm looking into what I want to do. A few of the guys I work with are retired enlisted navy, and they all seemed to think that the Navy compensation for nuke officers is ridiculous, and that the training and experience provided would be a fantastic addition to a resume (and that's if I didn't decide I liked it and made a career out of it). I've done a bit of research, and it looks like there are two paths: be a sub or carrier nuke officer, or Naval Reactors.

Almost all of the information I've seen on how selections are made is for people in ROTC or with a B.S.  Since I will already have a graduate degree in nuclear engineering, what would my first year of service look like? Would I go to OCS or OIS? Then on to A school and prototype? One of my neighbors is an active duty O-5, he seemed to think that Naval Reactors was recruited from the ranks of the propulsion officers, but wasn't sure. Can anyone answer that for sure?

Also, what are the odds of going into Naval Reactors instead of being a nuclear propulsion officer? I finished my Mech.E B.S. at the top of my class with a 3.9 GPA, currently holding a 4.0 in my Nuke.E M.S., and it looks like I'll keep it that way.

I'd appreciate any input. I've got some time to make the decision, but it is a big one and I'd like to get as much information as possible.

Thanks!

HalfHazzard

Re: Naval Reactors Question
« Reply #1 on: Aug 18, 2013, 10:11 »