Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Questions about officer program

Author Topic: Questions about officer program  (Read 13701 times)

Offline ewharris57

• Lurker
Questions about officer program
« on: Sep 02, 2013, 11:43 »
Hello,

To begin, I ship off to basic in a week. I am going enlisted and have done some minor research on the matter, however, I still have a few questions regarding getting picked up for OCS. First off, I have a bachelor's degree in Chemical Engineering. I personally felt that the thermo, heat transfer, etc. theory that I obtained while in school will help substantially. My main concern is whether or not I will be required to finish the nuke pipeline if I do get picked up for OCS. I understand that I need to submit my package for OCS as soon and often as possible. From what I've gathered from other posts, though, it seems that once I'm in OCS that I will basically abandon the pipeline from the point I got accepted. As a nuke officer would I really not finish all the required enlisted school? And if so, does that mean I would have zero field experience as an officer?

Also, if I do get picked up for officer, how long should I expect to be deployed? I've read that it's a 2 year sea tour (which will really piss my fiance off) followed by a 3 year shore tour. I may be mistaken on the length of time, but then again that's why I am asking.

Offline cheme09

• Moderate User
Re: Questions about officer program
« Reply #1 on: Sep 03, 2013, 09:09 »
I've read that it's a 2 year sea tour (which will really piss my fiance off) followed by a 3 year shore tour. I may be mistaken on the length of time, but then again that's why I am asking.

You do realize, that depending on whatever rating you signed up for, your sea tours could be twice as long (or more), right?

Offline SpaceJustice

• Moderate User
  • SRO ILT
« Reply #2 on: Sep 03, 2013, 09:52 »