Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu NUKE Sub vs NR  

Author Topic: NUKE Sub vs NR  (Read 5412 times)

Offline JuicyBurger

• Lurker
NUKE Sub vs NR
« on: Sep 11, 2013, 08:32 »
I read a similar thread on here discussing the same topic, but I'm not sure it answered my questions. I've also researched it online and talked to a few friends I know who just got out of prototype, but again they don't really know.

So I guess I'm stuck in a position where I don't know if I want to join the Navy, or if I do which path I will take. I've been out of school for a year and a half now, I got a degree in Mechanical Engineering with a 4.0 GPA. I've been working at a civilian start up company that's going to run out of money, so I'm stuck looking for another job or joining the Navy (a path that my friends in the Navy are recommending).

Originally I thought that Sub Nuke was what I'd want out of the officer choices, but then I found out about the NR and Instructor positions I could go into. So I guess I'm looking for more information on the NR path as compared to Sub Nuke in terms of what you learn and what you can do with it once you get out.

Any help is appreciated, Thanks

Offline Wojo

• Gold Member
Re: NUKE Sub vs NR
« Reply #1 on: Sep 12, 2013, 10:12 »
Please take what I say with a grain of salt since it has been 30 years since I stepped on a submarine but back when I was in, I seem to remember that the officers selected for NR duty were taken from the Fleet.  Consequently, I don't believe that you have a choice.  You will be nuke-qualified.  If you don't volunteer for submarines (which I believe is still something you have to volunteer for), then you will be assigned to a power-plant on a carrier.  Aftertime in the Fleet, you may then be given the opportunity for billets in NR or prototype as part of your shore rotation.  As I said, things could have changed since I have been out but that is how I remember it working.