Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu W-2 Questions
honeypot

Author Topic: W-2 Questions  (Read 7631 times)

Offline swaman

• Very Lite User
W-2 Questions
« on: Feb 24, 2013, 09:44 »
Hi All!
I am relatively new to the contractor world, this being my first tax filing since starting with DZA.
I started to do my taxes recently and immediately noticed some potential problems with my W-2 from DZ.
First: My state wages are posted separately in box 15 for NY and NJ, however it is my NY number that is used in the wages, tips etc. in box 1.
This doesn't make sense to me, because the Feds certainly want to know about the NJ wages too. Any advice?
Also, nowhere on the W-2 is there a separation of perdiem and wages. How do I go about determining this? Do I have to backtrack and figure out each day I worked, and each different rate of diem?
I'm looking to you all, as the SME's on this subject, and appreciate your help.
Thanks in advance!
SwaMan

Offline Already Gone

• Curmudgeon At Large
  • Very Heavy User
  • Did I say that out loud?
Re: W-2 Questions
« Reply #1 on: Feb 24, 2013, 03:54 »
The question about your NY vs. Federal wages, (box 15 NY vs. box 1) depends on where you live and where you worked.  If you could be specific about that, it would help.  If you live in NY, the company may have actually helped you out here by matching your NY and Federal income in boxes 1 and 15.  That way, they would also have withheld enough taxes to cover your NY liability.  If they didn't do that, you would owe huge penalties to NY for underpaying your NY taxes - even with the credit you get for taxes paid to NJ.