Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu NLO application advice

Author Topic: NLO application advice  (Read 12460 times)

Offline njstehr

• Very Lite User
NLO application advice
« on: Oct 07, 2013, 05:47 »
Hello to all,

This is my first post, but as I assume is common, I have been lurking for quite some time.  As a little background for any advisors, I graduated from NCSU with a degree in Nuclear Engineering in 2012.  During my time in school,  I was a traveling team member for their track team, interned with Progress Energy at Shaeron Harris, and had another nuclear (though none power generating related) internship.  Upon graduation, I accepted a job at Norfolk Naval Shipyard and I have now begun the qualification process for becoming a Shift Test Engineer(STE).  This is really similar to an RO position, it takes about 2.5 years and includes 8 months of school and government issued testing.  I will be going to school for my qualification in January, if I am not offered an NLO position sooner. 

With all of the said, I do feel like I have a pretty solid background for this position, my questions are as follows:

The company I am applying with does not require a degree, but I have heard several times that they have a filter for sub-3.0 gpa candidates and they are to not even be considered.  Any truth from any experience?  This job doesn't even require it, so I would hate to be filtered out for no good reason.  My gut actually tells me I could be filtered by the application software, my brain tells me this is silly.