Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu DOE Core Exam

Author Topic: DOE Core Exam  (Read 60185 times)

Chimera

Re: DOE Core Exam
« Reply #25 on: Oct 20, 2009, 07:45 »
That was just Imbimbo's clever (or so he thought) rewrite of calculating the airborne concentration from a leaking drum.  IP had us (the NUMANCO crew) take the same test they gave their house techs (after they had been through a 6-week training course) back in 1977.  One of the questions listed the curie content of six drums and wanted to know at what distance the high rad boundary should be posted.  I had never heard of 6CEN back then so I said I would post where my meter read 100 mR/hr.  Imbimbo had to concede that, while it wasn't the answer he was looking for, it was technically correct for a field tech.  I scurried back to the plant and counted my blessings.

spade

« Reply #26 on: Nov 12, 2009, 02:38 »
Hello Everyone,

I am very new to all of this Rad talk and am looking to change careers. I have talked with people in my area and they all tell me this is a great field to try and get into. I have checked with the local Tech. College but their program does not start for a 9 months and takes about 9 months for the class. Some have told me to just challenge the core test so I printed off the modules to start studying. A lot of info there but i think it can be done.
Does anyone have any great ways to help for the test and study guides? And am going about this the right way?

Ant and all input would be much appreciated!

Offline UncaBuffalo

• Mostly Retired
  • Very Heavy User
  • "How Many Things I Have No Need Of" - Socrates
« Reply #27 on: Nov 12, 2009, 03:10 »
Hello Everyone,