Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Wrong Physics classes in college

Author Topic: Wrong Physics classes in college  (Read 3612 times)

Offline ScubaStv

• Lurker
Wrong Physics classes in college
« on: Nov 30, 2013, 02:55 »
Just a little bit about myself:  I have a BS in Biology, 3.65 overall GPA, 3.88 in courses pertaining to my major, President of Biological Honors Society, Honors Program student, and tons of volunteer hours.  Also, before college (I am 28) I worked for a civil engineer.  He taught me everything he needed to in order for me to do his job for him..  He took a lot of vacations.  Now that I have my degree, I am back in the engineering field.  Currently I design and draw residential homes under the supervision of a different engineer.

I want to apply for SWO(N).  However, I took algebra based physics in college and only Calc I. I did very well in these courses, and I am sure that I wouldn't have a problem in Calc II or calculus based physics.  I am just fearful that it will be too late.  I would gladly enroll as a non-degree seeking student just to take these classes.  I have read that there are waivers for age and for those without these classes, but I know that waivers can be a longshot.

I met with a recruiter who was supposedly an officer recruiter, but he did not seem very helpful.  He told me that the non nuke SWO was closed until Oct 2014, but did not mention the nuke option.  He is enlisted, and seemed very excited when I started talking about the possibility of rescue swimmer.  So now they are trying to get me to go the enlisted route with hopes that I can get into OCS when SWO opens.  I scored a 94 out of 99 on my practice ASVAB, and they told me to do research on everything I'm interested in because if I do that well on the real ASVAB, I can get into anything.  They seemed pretty certain that I would have no problem getting into OCS once it opens.  I feel like they aren't being completely honest with me.