Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu DOE transition to Power Plant

Author Topic: DOE transition to Power Plant  (Read 4153 times)

Offline joejack45

• Very Lite User
DOE transition to Power Plant
« on: Nov 18, 2013, 12:17 »
Just looking for some advice. I have three years of experience on DOE sites ( Hanford and LANL). I am trying to work may way into a power plant, but finding it very difficult sense most power plants won't consider my DOE experience relevant. I have spent almost all of my three years in the RCT trade working high hazard jobs, mostly D&D activities of PU facilities.
I have my DOE core and NUF. Also, I started a Nuclear Technology program at Columbia Basin College in Pasco, WA, but left for my latest job. Would it be beneficial to mention those 60 credits or not?
Any tips of the trade to help me reach my goals would be very helpful.
Thanks
« Last Edit: Jan 07, 2014, 02:36 by Rennhack »

Chimera

Re: 15 Skills Power Plants Look for on RP Resumes
« Reply #1 on: Nov 18, 2013, 12:08 »
There are major differences between a lot of DOE sites and the power plant worlds.  The power plants may respect that you know how to turn the meter on but until you've pegged an RO-20 on the high scale or brought in smears reading in the Rad range, they won't have a lot of respect for your job experiences.  However, insofar as those 60 hours are concerned, turn them into an AS degree so it becomes a part of your resume.

Offline retired nuke

• Family Man
  • Very Heavy User
  • No longer a nuke
« Reply #2 on: Nov 18, 2013, 12:15 »
There are major differences between a lot of DOE sites and the power plant worlds.  The power plants may respect that you know how to turn the meter on but until you've pegged an RO-20 on the high scale or brought in smears reading in the Rad range, they won't have a lot of respect for your job experiences.  However, insofar as those 60 hours are concerned, turn them into an AS degree so it becomes a part of your resume.