Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Noble Gas grab sample size honeypot

Author Topic: Noble Gas grab sample size  (Read 11188 times)

Offline dandelion742

• Very Lite User
Noble Gas grab sample size
« on: Jan 17, 2014, 04:18 »
Hello, I am a chemistry tech working at one of the nuke plants in Taiwan.

In our plant we grab Noble Gas at sampling skids where gaseous effluent are collected from releasing points.  

The sampling container we have used for years is a Marinelli-style 20 Liter plastic box with petcocks, and it is heavy and NOT easy-to-carry.

I always wanna change to the commercially avaliable 4L Marinelli gas-tight container.

But I wonder if 4L is big enough to meet regulatory required LLD,1 x 10-4 uCi/ml, when 40% germanium detector is used and counting time is limited to about 10 min ?

What do you use for Noble Gas sampling?

Thanks for your sharing information.
« Last Edit: Jan 20, 2014, 10:44 by dandelion742 »

Offline Imaginos

• Moderate User
Re: Noble Gas grab sample size
« Reply #1 on: Jan 17, 2014, 05:43 »
1 liter (1220 cc) Marinelli with Swagelok quick-disconnect fittings for the continuous release sample points; we can meet the LLDs with a 30 minute count time.
"I'm not quiet; I just don't demand to be heard." ---George Harrison

Offline SloGlo

• meter reader
  • Very Heavy User
  • trust me, i'm an hp
« Reply #2 on: Jan 18, 2014, 10:14 »
Yore problem is with mass or time? That counter's chamber should handle whatever volume sew aye am thinking the lab schedule is too tite two alter time frames. Oar is their a programing challenge?
quando omni flunkus moritati

dubble eye, dubble yew, dubble aye!

dew the best ya kin, wit watt ya have, ware yinze are!

Offline dandelion742

• Very Lite User
« Reply #3 on: Jan 19, 2014, 08:18 »
Thank you for your reply.