Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu EMP question honeypot

Author Topic: EMP question  (Read 11504 times)

Offline dwozniak

• Very Lite User
EMP question
« on: Jan 29, 2014, 08:21 »
Hello everyone.  I am sure this is an odd post - something this forum is not used to, but I appreciate any advice and response you may have.

I am an author working on a speculative fiction novel which takes place in the near future (2060).  My story is centered around an EMP bomb which goes off in the top floors of a very tall building... something like 1km altitude.  For thematic purposes, I want the EMP to be a nuclear based, but I don't want it to be from a highly enriched uranium source.  My character has access to fuel assemblies as part of a "microreactor farm" so I am weaving into the plot line her stealing low enriched uranium - something under 20%. 

I don't want my story to focus on any traditional nuclear bomb effects:  explosion, radiation, etc.  I just want the EMP effect in the area of 10 miles radius. 

SO... here's my question.  I want the story to be believable enough, even though it's technically 50 years in the future and sci-fi.  In your opinion, could there ever be a future technology which used low-enriched uranium to trigger an EMP?  What science could achieve this theortically?  Am I off the mark?

Thanks for your opinion!

Dave

BuddyThePug

Re: EMP question
« Reply #1 on: Jan 29, 2014, 09:55 »
Hello everyone.  I am sure this is an odd post - something this forum is not used to, but I appreciate any advice and response you may have.