Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Declined an interview. What should I do next?  

Author Topic: Declined an interview. What should I do next?  (Read 4770 times)

Midshipman15

Declined an interview. What should I do next?
« on: Feb 11, 2014, 04:47 »
I am a third year mechanical engineer, and recently requested a NUPOC interview.  I was declined the opportunity because my GPA waiver did not get accepted.  I currently have a 2.9.  This is something I really want and I would like to know if there are any ways I can try to resubmit my package.  I am afraid I did not have had a very competitive package because I was never asked to submit a brag sheet or do a telephone interview, and from people I have talked to that seems like standard practice.  Also I know that my GPA is on the low end but I have only taken 2 non technical classes in my 5 semesters, and the lieutenant that i have done interview practice with says that I know my stuff and should do well if I actually get an interview. If anyone is able to give me any advice I would be forever thankful.

Offline spekkio

• Very Heavy User
Re: Declined an interview. What should I do next?
« Reply #1 on: Feb 11, 2014, 10:45 »
Are you a midshipman or not? Because if so, your NROTC/USNA CoC should be advising you how to proceed.

If not, I don't have any insider information as to how NR screens applicants, but if you were denied a GPA waiver then I would start pursuing other career options. Try to raise your GPA next year and reapply (if you're allowed to). Other Naval communities care more about the 'whole person concept' than nuke, which is why you never did interviews or submitted statements. Also, other designators care about your ASTB score a lot more, which can help offset a low GPA. But these days business is good for officer applicants so cross your fingers but don't hold your breath.